The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Barber-ism

Skipman

Researching a 1st Black Watch soldier, enlisted December 1914, KIA November 1917. No service record and very little to go on. Doesn't appear to have been wounded at any time. He was a barber to trade. I know of a WW2 soldier who had a fairly cushy time in Italy far from the front line as a barber yet his brothers had a far tougher time. Could this have been the case in WW1 or would a barber not necessarily have been used as such, or, if he was, it may have been at company or battalion level when out of the line?

Edit 6.47, 29/9/2020 He entered theatre France in early May, 1915.

Mike

Edited by Skipman

• Admin

I'm currently reading The Road To St Julien, being the letters of William St Clair, a barber by trade who served as a stretcher bearer. His family business folded after his remaining brother was conscripted.  He appears to have been called upon to cut hair as and when. 

I think Michelle’s correct that mostly such men’s skills were made use of when out of the line.  Certainly in the cases I’ve read about that’s been the case.

Talking of the period of fighting in November 1914, Frank MacFarlane of the 1st bn said:

"I don't think I shaved for nearly a month, there was a lot of beards going; if at all possible I got a shave, but shaving in cold water was not up to much. Later, in early 1915, beards and moustaches were ordered off with hair cut to the bone for medical reasons – we laughed at the Germans but they were right."

Derek.

5 hours ago, Derek Black said:

Talking of the period of fighting in November 1914, Frank MacFarlane of the 1st bn said:

"I don't think I shaved for nearly a month, there was a lot of beards going; if at all possible I got a shave, but shaving in cold water was not up to much. Later, in early 1915, beards and moustaches were ordered off with hair cut to the bone for medical reasons – we laughed at the Germans but they were right."

Derek.