Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

RFA - Unit 1a Res Bde

appleyard

I am having trouble locating the Unit War Diary for 1a Res Bde RFA.  Please can someone help?  I am particularly interested in where they were mid-May 1917.

Thank you,

Cal

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I'm not an artillery expert, (hopefully one will be along shortly :), but to the best of my knowledge Reserve Brigades were UK service only and so would not have been required to keep a war diary.

May help if you tell us why you are looking, (if it's not too personal) as there may well be other ways to obtain the information you're after.

Cheers,

Peter

Newcastle

http://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/the-royal-artillery-in-the-first-world-war/royal-artillery-depots-training-and-home-defence-units/

1A Reserve Brigade RFA, consisting of Nos. 1, 2 and 3 Reserve Batteries, was at Fenham Barracks, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Thank you for the replies.  I didn’t realize 1a Res Bde RFA was a Home Unit, which would explain why there is no Unit War Diary.  Newcastle makes sense as that is where the person I am researching came from.

I am researching Clement Wishart for a friend.  He served as a Gunner in the Royal Field Artillery (service number 90309), enlisting 28/8/1914 in 1a Res Bde RFA.  He was discharged 14/5/1917 as wounded and no longer fit for war service.  A Silver War Badge, number 178143, was issued 22/5/1917.

His Medal Card states that he served in Egypt from 1/7/1915.  Did the Unit go to Egypt or would he have transferred to another unit?  If the latter, any idea how I can find out which unit since his service papers appear not to have survived.  Is there a way to find out if it was in Egypt that he was wounded?  

Perhaps someone could also help me with the following:

There are 5 transcribed pension ledgers and index cards for him on line but they don’t give any indication of the original source.

• ·         York; North East England   (4/MW/10982)