Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Possibly Karl Donitz iron cross medal

Peter Cookson

Dear All

About 10 years ago I purchased an interesting medal.

It is presented in a whitish snake skin presentation box.

A message is written in it “ for Karl “ etc a date is shown I believe as (Nov 7th 1914)

I cannot find any second iron cross medal presented in this colour box.

I have tried for years to find the owner , the only person this fits with is Admiral Karl Donitz.

I may be wrong but the date fits if I am reading it correctly , plus the person I got this from lived in America he said he was a friend of the Souter family who are a known Naval family.

what I can say people have held it say it smells and looks written in 1914.

I am a 57 year old builder always gone to Remembrance Day events I would appreciate any advice.

please look at the pictures.

659998E3-C9D1-47B6-BFCB-58AACF28068B.jpeg

8DDAFA63-CB42-4D93-BA26-A7BA178A0DD0.jpeg

805E28E6-3503-4654-ADC9-B2F8A2F19E26.jpeg

E3877754-2EFE-45EB-9181-52547A166994.jpeg

00FC6421-8686-4CF8-B2BF-BC3431050544.jpeg

A789630B-F4E3-46F3-BAE6-E1A19872D1C0.png

5BD42438-5CAB-4FCF-B52D-7EC60C5AF42F.jpeg

I likely wont be able to assist you, I dont collect KM or Nazi medals but my son in law collects KM & he has EKII

among other medals.  EK did not come in this kind of box, perhaps the orriginal recipient had this box made for his EKII.

I doubt you have Adm Doenitz EK tho, however I dont know where his decorations might be now, perhaps in a museum in Germany or USA.

Someone will come along who is much more able to assist you than I,

Thanks,

Bryan

& I read that date as Mai 7 1914.  The first war had not started yet!

I agree May. Also as per this site CLICK

The second most popular male German name in the 1910s was Karl. 

You have a very common medal that was either awarded to, or bequeathed to someone of that name which was also commonplace.. 

Dave

Edited by depaor01