Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

King's Royal Rifles with RE Sapper link

SixStreetsHistory

I have a copy of a paybook for Wright Moss (R13809) For 12th [something illegible] King's Royal Rifle Corps. The first pay entry is for 11 November 1917 up to 16 March 1918 - the family story goes that he was shot across the chest by machine gun and the paybook saved his life (the story may have got expanded with telling as there are no blood stains!).  (There must have been earlier pay books as he enlisted in June 1915) . What intrigues me is that in the book there is a reference to a course he completed at Holm [Plac...?] for 1st Classification Sapper RE. It also states that he passed in drill, Musketry, bombing, bayonet fighting Gas and Wiring.  What does this mean in terms of a Sapper fitting in within the KRRC? He was a coal miner by profession if that information is relevant.

Also once a man was injured and presumably returned to UK for long term recovery how would he be assessed before being discharged? If the paybook is right he was injured about 16 March 1918 (last entry half way down a page) and his SWB discharge is dated 18 September 1918. I know men, following an injury on the front line, would on recovery,  could be transferred to a unit like the Labour Corps - presumably he was not fit enough to have this transfer. During the latter stages of his recovery would he have been allowed home leave? The reason I ask is that one of his granddaughters takes the fact that he was discharged in September 1918 as proof that her mother (Wright's daughter) is not his child as she was born 7 months after his September discharge. I am sure that it is likely he would be allowed time off once out of danger to be eligible for home leave? Someone tell me I am right to restore his reputation (or that of his wife!) !!! Does anyone have any information on this process of recovery and assessment for discharge