Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

David Abrahamson

Colin Parkinson

I am researching David Abrahamson born Leeds 1900. He joined the Royal Fusiliers (78834) and the West Riding (Duke of Wellington) Regiment (60109 & 4603283 - why 2 numbers). Information from Medal Card. Also come across a Pte D Abrahamson 168234 Private 1922 Duke of Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment) How can I prove this is a different man?

I have checked genealogical sites and David Abrahamson changed his name to Richard Adamson around 1924.  Will his service record have survived and where can I find it? He is my sister-in-laws grandfather.

Many thanks, I am new to Army records.

Colin

• Admin

Welcome to the forum. There is excellent advice about history research a soldier on the Long Long Trail website, link top left.

Michelle 

35 minutes ago, Colin Parkinson said:

West Riding (Duke of Wellington) Regiment (60109 & 4603283 - why 2 numbers)

Hi and welcome to the forum.

To answer that bit of your query, the 7 digit numbers were issued postwar for each man who remained in the Regular Army, so giving each a unique identifier that didn't have to change when they moved units. His new number comes from part of a block allocated to the West Riding Regiment.

http://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/soldiers/a-soldiers-life-1914-1918/new-british-army-numbers-issued-in-1920/

If he stayed in post 1920 then his records will still be held by the Ministry of Defence. There was a thread on the forum where someone had kindly put together a list of men with pre 1901 dates of birth whose records are available there, but sadly that seems to have been archived. Hopefully someone with better knowledge about these things should be along shortly.

If it does turn out the papers are there, then the process for applying for them is here https://www.gov.uk/get-copy-military-service-records/apply-for-someone-elses-records