Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unidentified WWI RFC Observer

Sheriffof0

Among some medium-sized glass-plate negatives i was digitising last weekend were these attached.

I am not an expert but I take this to be the No. 1 Dress Uniform of an RFC Aerial Observer, rank is unclear to me.

There is a wonderful image of the same young man in what is clearly an homage to T.E. Lawrence.

It is a shame I have no other means of identification as the images are marvellous.

If anyone can shed any further light I would be fascinated.

glassNeg_11.jpg

glassNeg_12.jpg

glassNeg_13.jpg

glassNeg_14.jpg

6 hours ago, Sheriffof0 said:

Among some medium-sized glass-plate negatives i was digitising last weekend were these attached.

I am not an expert but I take this to be the No. 1 Dress Uniform of an RFC Aerial Observer, rank is unclear to me.

There is a wonderful image of the same young man in what is clearly an homage to T.E. Lawrence.

It is a shame I have no other means of identification as the images are marvellous.

If anyone can shed any further light I would be fascinated.

glassNeg_11.jpg

Not RFC, but the uniform of a junior officer c.1918/1919 in the newly formed Royal Air Force. Difficult to tell from a black and white shot, but it does appear to be the early version in khaki (and not blue). Rank was originally worn on the cuffs and also designated by bars either side of the cap badge (the latter were soon eliminated, as here), so unfortunately nothing in shot to say what specific rank.

Edited by Andrew Upton

Andrew, Many thanks for this clarification. I had spotted that the cap badge wasn't quite right but I wasn't able to interpret that fact in the expert way that you have. I really appreciate the help in narrowing down the dates.

Regards,

Jon.

As Andrew says, he is wearing the very first RAF pattern of 1918 service dress cap badge, which was all metal.