Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unrestricted Submarine Warfare

Tim Birch

I was suprised to learn that this extended to sinking hospital ships. The Brittanic, sister ship to the Titanic, was torpedoed and sunk in the Aegean despite being painted white and clearly marked by red crosses. Towards the end of 1916 it seems that the authorities considered discontinuing the use of Malta as a base for military hospitals due to the number of hospital ships being attacked en route to the island.

Unrestricted meant unrestricted ... I believe there was a History Channel story on this one in particular. I am no expert ... but from the German side, they said they couldn't trust the Allies about what was non-combatant and what was a munitions carrier - see Lusitania and Cunards double role ... was this a hospital ship or a troop carrier?

There is also the Terror Concept. When nothing is safe at sea the campaign will work much better than if there was strict adherence to the "rules" ...

But, also remember the British wanted such stuff to happen and did their best to portray German Uboats as war crimes ... what better way than attacking hospital ships ... and if the Germans shied away from attacking them, why not pile munitions into the lower holds?

By definition, Submarine attacks were really guesses and therefore open to real subjective analysis or consideration. Unless they actually followed the rules - stop, search, let the crew off and then sink - which would put the sub in great peril ... they HAD to make mistakes ... unless they sunk some hospital ships ... these ships would become the troop carriers and munition ships because the British would use them as such to escape the sub attacks.

War is hell ...

Hi,

The last research that I heard about was that Brittanic was sunk buy a mine and that what finished Lusitania was a coal dust explosion.

All the best

Fred

• 3 weeks later...