Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte JW Barlow 45639 Yorks & Lancs.

Andrew G Barlow

Hello, all. What an amazing place to be. I am a complete novice with regard to researching past lives. My question: my Grandfather, Private John W Barlow, from Rotherham, DoW, 20:10:1918, aged 23. He fought with the Yorks & Lancs, 6th  Battalion. I am wondering if it is possible to find out where, geographically, he was wounded? I thank you n advance. Andrew

For my Grandad.

BARLOW,JOHN WILLIE,J W,,,20/10/1918,,Private,York and Lancaster Regiment,6th Bn.,France,'45639',ETAPLES MILITARY CEMETERY,LXV. J. 19.,"SON OF CLARA BARLOW, OF RAWMARSH RD., ROTHERHAM, YORKS."

Hi and welcome

On National Archives you can download the war diary. If you are on Ancestry it should be available there too.

6 Battalion York and Lancaster Regiment

Reference: WO 95/1809/5
Description:

6 Battalion York and Lancaster Regiment

Date: 1916 July - 1919 Apr.

I imagine your are aware that his burial place indicates that he died in one of the many hospitals at Etaples so you should look a few weeks prior to 20 October 1918 although casualties through the whole of October included 215 wounded (74 in September) so it may be difficult/impossible to define exactly when he was wounded.

Max

He has some service papers, but they are in poor condition. It looks like he was wounded 11/10/1918 and taken to 22nd Casualty Clearing Station on 12/10/1918 - "SW Back". He died in 20th General Hospital, which I think was in Camiers, on 20/10/1918.

Edited by IPT

Thank you so much. I can only imagine what my Grandad went through. Every piece of information brings him that little closer. Thank you again. Andrew, a grateful grandson.

Almost all the battalion's casualties on 1st October, however there are four casualties on 11/10/18, all killed in action - Capt FG Anderson, 37690 E Smith 21671 T Conway and 17426 T Farr.  

Perhaps a shell?