Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1888 Pattern Bayonet

Captain White

Given the level of knowledge and expertise, asking for help on the forum seems like the best place to be. The Bayonet itself has seen much service, is badly pitted and corroded in places and there are a number if deep marks in some of the surfaces, I have had this for many years and cannot remember where I got it from and when.

I cannot read the possible makers mark, the stamp itself is not very clear and has been obscured heavily with later date stamps and makes it difficult to interpret, any input into the origin would be gratefully received as I am not an expert in this field. I can make out the following dates;

[19]00, [19]03, [19]04, [19]05, [19]07, [19]09 (possibly?) and at least three inspection stamps. Reverse shows the War Department stamp, another inspection stamp and the 'X' stiffness test. 

The other marks further down are visible, No 68 but no idea what this means and the mark on the reverse is clear but again I do not know what this is.

Looking forward to any replies, should be interesting!

1888 Pattern Bayonet dates1 sf.jpg

1888 Pattern Bayonet dates2 sf.jpg

1888 Pattern Bayonet dates3 sf.jpg

1888 Pattern Bayonet dates4 sf.jpg

Welcome Captain White,

Manufacturers stamp looks to be “Wilkinson London”, the 68 on the pommel would be the rack number and the CC stamp indicates issue to the county cadets....this thread here has another example of that stamp...

Dave.

8 minutes ago, Dave66 said:

Welcome Captain White,

Manufacturers stamp looks to be “Wilkinson London”, the 68 on the pommel would be the rack number and the CC stamp indicates issue to the county cadets....this thread here has another example of that stamp...

Dave.