Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The Battle of Jutland Animation

Skipman

Looks to me like almost complete fantasy. Just for one example, how could the HSF try to cut off Beatty from Jellico(e), when they didn't even know he was at sea? The ship movements shown bear hardly any resemblance to the accepted trackcharts - hardly know where to start, really...

Thanks MikB I am no expert on the Battle of Jutland so wasn't aware it was quite so bad. Are the documents/timeline etc equally innacurate?

Mike

The documents are open to question.  

Thanks Hyacinth. It looks like it was made before 1936, so I suppose accurate information was scarce. You wonder why they would bother if it's that inaccurate. If those of you 'in the know' think it is so bad, I am happy to delete it, or if you think there's any merit in it, am happy to leave up?

Mike

13 hours ago, Skipman said:

Thanks MikB I am no expert on the Battle of Jutland so wasn't aware it was quite so bad. Are the documents/timeline etc equally innacurate?

Mike

Many of the document details aren't timed and they're mostly vague and to some extent self-contradictory. Example: 'Beatty followed by Queen Elizabeths' vs 'Beatty followed by Queen Elizabeth' at different points in the documents. He was indeed followed by 4 ships of the QE class (5th Battle Squadron), but the QE itself was not present. Although the documents give a little information that's coarsely accurate, there's plenty that isn't (eg. 'casualties roughly equal'), and it looks to me that the incomplete and undetailed description in the documents was developed by speculation into a very deeply flawed animation.