Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Shooting the vintage Rifles

Steve1871

I have a fair number of British rifles and Mausers, among other stuff.y favorite " family" is the M.71. (1871) Mauser. I went to this range for the first time. I was shocked to see it packed.Curious, I stopped to see what was going on. They were having a shooting competition . Any type rifle

. I thought what the heck, and joined.Going to the line to set up, there were 15 or 16 of us. Being the last to join, I had an end spot. All the other shooters looked at my  ancient looking ( to them) single shot M71 mauser and looked at me as if I was daft. Almost half the shooters had AR type rifles. 

I was hoping not to get kicked off for my ammo. The first round, simple 100 meter metal targets.

Had to make 10 hits, everyone was hearing the loud, high crack of the AR rifles, which everyone expected., That was. Until I started shooting, I had 4 boxes of new black powder rounds. High pitch  CRACK. CRACK. CRACK. BOOM

the AR's then my old Mauser, with a good size bluish cloud drifted forward and up . The officials stopped me and asked the shooters close to me if I was hindering them with the smoke. 

They laughed, saying it was cool, so I got to keep going.High pitch CRACK CRACK BOOOM, I had a great time. And surprisingly, I actually beat 2 shooters. Thought for sure, I would be last . It would not have mattered. I loved it.

Any of you fellow collectors have any stories you would like to share? Shooting Great War guns with your father, or those vintage gun clubs in England that I hear about ? I hope so. CHEER'S MATE'S

I used to have a firearms certificate up until the 90's but have occasionally shot with a local rifle club as a guest up to 2015.