Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

John William Andrew Emms East Surrey Regiment

Jojessholli

Hi Guys,

Can anyone put me a link on here to the war diary (either on Ancestry or N/A) for the 3rd Battalion, East Surrey - July 1916 - I have a subscription to Ancestry, but can't locate the diary.  Same on the Nat A!  Or at least tell me they don't exist lol!

I'm looking in particular for the link to the diary for July 1916.

Please someone help this dimwit!

Regards

Vic

From Long Long Trail at

https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/the-british-infantry-regiments-of-1914-1918/east-surrey-regiment/

3rd (Reserve) Battalion
August 1914 : in Kingston-upon-Thames. A depot/training unit, it moved to Grand Shaft Barracks at Dover and remained there throughout the war.
19 November 1918: moved to Bridge of Allan.
February 1919: moved to Glasgow.

so therefore is it 3/5th?

3/5th and 3/6th Battalions
Formed at Wimbledon and Kingston-upon-Thames respectively in July 1915 as depot/training (“third line”) units. Moved to Cambridge 1 January 1916.
3 April 1916 : moved to Crowborough and became Reserve Bns. 5th then absorbed 6th on 1 September 1916. Moved to Tonbridge in October 1916 and finally Tunbridge Wells in September 1918.

War diary mentioned HERE on Nat Archives, but not digitised for download, Surrey History Centre, not available at The National Archives

21 minutes ago, jonbem said:

From Long Long Trail at

https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/the-british-infantry-regiments-of-1914-1918/east-surrey-regiment/

3rd (Reserve) Battalion
August 1914 : in Kingston-upon-Thames. A depot/training unit, it moved to Grand Shaft Barracks at Dover and remained there throughout the war.
19 November 1918: moved to Bridge of Allan.
February 1919: moved to Glasgow.