Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform help

Ed Matthews

Can anyone please help with identification of this uniform please?  It's taken after the war in Belgium in 1919. The subject is also sporting a Silver War Badge. The tunic doesn't look British to me - anyone able to help?  Best wishes, Ed

Jack Belgium 1919073.jpg

There appears to be a maple leaf on the buttons making the uniform Canadian unless my eyes are deceiving me.

Dave

Good evening

I think more about buttons  "General Service ".
regards

michel

Many thanks for the comments, Michel & Dave. I've tried to scan at much higher resolution in the vicinity of the buttons but to no avail unfortunately - it's just not clear enough to discern. The tunic itself doesn't look British to me but I'm no expert on uniform!

Ed

Edited by Ed Matthews

Look like a Canadian M1913 SD jacket with tailored pockets.

Thanks Jools. Is it fair, then, to conclude that he is a CEF soldier?  Would you expect to see some other insignia on his uniform? Wearing of the SWB by re-enlisted personnel in uniform was certainly permissible in the British Army (and presumably same held true for Canadians too).  Such a pity there is nothing to identify who he was!

Best wishes

Ed

Edited by Ed Matthews

He's a Special Constable. The tunic is a fairly typical dark blue five-button jacket, whilst the buttons themselves are the KC surrounded by the "pie crust" edging:

Special Constabulary pie crust buttons.JPG

Good spot Andrew.  To my surprise it seems that the Specials did not generally wear collar numbers like regular policemen, but instead had a duty arm band usually with a number on that.

313CD1F5-440A-451E-A1B3-4933D1A79569.jpeg

AA4F0548-0522-4583-B5CD-1F1B887BA251.jpeg

5 hours ago, FROGSMILE said:

Good spot Andrew.  To my surprise it seems that the Specials did not generally wear collar numbers like regular policemen, but instead had a duty arm band usually with a number on that.