Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Researching a Royal Naval Rating of the Great War

pete130356

Hi I'm trying to do a bit of research into a Royal Naval Stoker that died during the great war. I have his Death plaque, War medal and victory medal. I have the envelope that the Death Plaque came in and on the envelope is the number 44755 in pencil. His service number is 295104 which was taken from the medals, but so far I can't find a thing regarding this man. I'm quite new to this , I will be retiring in 2 months time and so I thought I would make a start on my new hobby of researching my first world war collection. I am a member on Ancestry but couldn't find anything there. Any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Probably a good idea to give you all his name. Its James Clarke.....

Edited by pete130356

Died serving in Hood Battalion of the Royal Naval Division.  Wounded at Gallipoli in the Third Battle of Krithia  on 4 June 1915 and died on board the hospital ship SOMALI. Buried at Malta. He had previously served in the RND at the Defence of Antwerp where he earned the 1914 Star (he was not entitled to the Clasp to the Star). The three medals were issued to his widow, Georgina.

There are two records at Kew for this man:-

His RN record - https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/D6759655 and his RND record card - https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/D7291211

I have not "got" Gallipoli in my head as clearly as I would like, but I think this may be the map for the 4 June attack. Apologies for dodgy photograph!

Krithia.jpg

7 hours ago, horatio2 said:

Died serving in Hood Battalion of the Royal Naval Division.  Wounded at Gallipoli in the Third Battle of Krithia  on 4 June 1915 and died on board the hospital ship SOMALI. Buried at Malta.

You should get more information on the battalion and this action from Len Sellers' book