Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Great Grandad in Uniform - 2/7th Sherwood Foresters - can anyone tell me anything from his uniform?

PixelDust

Greetings!

This is my Great Grandad Joseph Caine, 2140 / 4962312 . I'm very new to war research and military history, so I'm not sure what I'm looking for. The cap badge seems to be different from the Sherwood Foresters ones I have seen already. Can anyone give me any further information from the pictures?

Thanks in advance

PixelDust

47438191_361753001247256_943271214447591424_n.jpg

jcpcaine1.jpg

• Admin

My guess is Royal Pioneer Corps and the photos are definitely not WW1

Michelle 

Ahhh, I know he served in both wars, so that makes sense. Thank you for clearing that up for me. I am so new to this that I had no idea! Cheers.

As Michelle has spotted both photos show a Pioneer Corps officer (Lieutenant) of WW2 (became Royal after that war).  He is a WW1 veteran, as a great many of the pioneers were, especially at the beginning of WW2.  Most famously the initially poorly armed pioneers managed to obtain arms and played a significant part in the ring of defence around Dunkirk in 1940.

Edited by FROGSMILE

Thank you Frogsmile. As a family we didn't know about the Pioneer Corps at all, seems like most of our info is WW1 and the only pics from WW2. Gives me a great starting point to do more reasearch. Massively appreciated.

On a quick scan I saw the Pioneer Corps recruiting in africa. And one snippet of family history was that at one point he wet from Africa to Italy - desert to mountains in short trousers and no warm clothing. Seems like the arms weren't the only thing in short supply.

Edited by PixelDust

2 hours ago, PixelDust said:

Thank you Frogsmile. As a family we didn't know about the Pioneer Corps at all, seems like most of our info is WW1 and the only pics from WW2. Gives me a great starting point to do more reasearch. Massively appreciated.