Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

There But Not There - Charity needs help to reclaim VAT

CommanderChuff

https://www.change.org/p/help-the-armed-forces-charity-there-but-not-there-reclaim-the-vat-on-the-sale-of-commemorative-tommies-ensuring-that-the-taxman-isn-t-the-largest-beneficiary?expired_session=true&expired_session=true&expired_session=true&expired_session=true

Return the VAT on the sale of ‘There But Not There’ Tommies

My name is Rowley Gregg. I am a veteran of Afghanistan, but I am also the Director of a small charity called Remembered. We are running a campaign called 'There But Not There'. We have a tiny staff of just five people working tirelessly to commemorate the centenary of WW1, educate young people about its horrors, and importantly, raise funds to support veterans suffering from the mental and physical wounds of Service.

We recently started selling ‘There But Not There’ ‘Tommies’ - figurines that people could buy to commemorate a relative or loved one and in so doing, raise much needed funds for military charities. All the proceeds of which, we had hoped would help our armed forces veteran community.

To date, sales have raised nearly £4m for six military charities, but because our Tommies are technically classed as “merchandise”, £800,000 of the money raised has had to be paid in tax to HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC), making it the single largest beneficiary of the public fundraising initiative.

This cannot be right.

Four years ago the then Chancellor, George Osborne, refunded the VAT that had been charged on the sale of ceramic poppies from the Tower of London art installation. Surely Chancellor Philip Hammond can do the same in this case?

This year marks the centenary of the end of WWI. The Chancellor could go a long way to defuse the anger felt by many military charities, if he returned the VAT raised on the sale of ‘There But Not There’ Tommies.