Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

'25th Works Battalion, Royal Engineers'

Hello. I'm new to the forum and hoped somebody might be able to assist.

I am researching a WW1 serviceman from Derbyshire. He survived the war and is listed on a WW1 'roll of honour' in his local parish church, though no service records have survived, nor is there any reference to him in the medal rolls. He was a carpenter by trade and I suspected that he served in the UK, perhaps as a carpenter in a works battalion.

I just received his son's birth certificate. He registered his son's birth in Derbyshire in March 1917. His occupation was given as 'Private, 5th Company, 25th Works Battalion, Royal Engineers'.

My question for the forum relates to the '25th Works Battalion' of the Royal Engineers. I understand that there were no 'works battalions' in the Royal Engineers and the only reference I can locate to a '25th Works Battalion' is the Durham Light Infantry. Can anybody explain what '25th Works Battalion, Royal Engineers' would actually be referring to? Many thanks.

Simon

Welcome.

Information on BM&D Certificates is often wrong, as any family researcher will know. It needs corroboration. Please can you give us his name. If he was a carpenter he would have been a sought after commodity for a Field Company RE or Army Troops Company RE. There may be reasons why he did not serve overseas. Is there any further info on the ROH.

Brian

Hello Brian

Many thanks for getting back to me. His name was Alfred BOWMER (1886-1972): a lifelong resident of Derbyshire. A Google search will return his entry on the Crich Parish WW1 website - I provided the information and photograph which is included on the website entry, so that information is already known to me.