Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Chapman P1907 regiment cancellation markings

mja

I’m new to the bayonet collecting game , I bought a couple of bayonets recently, one being this Chapman , on the pommel

looks to be R B with 709 underneath, then these have been neatly cancelled , with an R stamped where the cancellation marks bisect.

there are no other regimental marks on the bayonet . I’m assuming the original R B is the Rifle Brigade , any idea what the extra R signifies, would it have been sold or given to the soldier who used it at this time ? 

there is some wear to the bayonet as I can’t see a year made mark . But I guess it may have seen service. It came with a J.W.B 17 scabbard 

CD369B79-EA3F-4F43-A72B-45FCC0A78F31.jpeg

B643E6D6-E6FE-4527-BA88-F2625C04009B.jpeg

FF63371C-3FD9-4BAC-9586-817B681FAF49.jpeg

Hi MJA, Bayonet collecting , a slippery slope ! I think your x and R signifies 

x - “ obsolete/sold out of service,”

R - possibly “Reserve” I.e. returned to stores for possible re-issue.

as to the date possibly feb 1916 ?

hopefully one of the Gentlemen of the Forum ( who are far more knowledgable than I) will correct me if my assumptions are astray.

Nice piece of history.

regards Richard

Hello mja, and welcome.

R would certainly indicate the bayonet was issued to the rifle brigade reserve, the year of manufacture looks to have been obscured by a later inspection stamp from the twenties. Initially Chapman bayonets were stamped J.A.C., this later changed to Chapman, don't know the exact date of this change (somebody else may wish to chip in), but I'm sure it was during the Great War, and may well match the date of the scabbard.

The unit stamping was officially cancelled probably during an inspection when it was put into stores for future use, as so many were from that era.

Dave.

Edited by Dave66

Change from J.A.C. to CHAPMAN, was 1916 I think, but may stand to be corrected.

Mike.

Edited by MikeyH