Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Aussie newbie's first Western Front visit. Assistance request.

Derek

Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie to these forums and soon to make my first trip to the Western Front, and my first trip outside of Australia. 
I'll be travelling with two friends and we are members of "The Westralian Great War Living History Assoc." in Perth, Western Australia. 
The trip is roughly between October 23 and November 13.
The focus of the trip is to visit all the sites named in the War Diaries of the 16th Australian Infantry Battalion in Belgium and France, there are a lot. Only November 11, has a particular site to be on that day and we intend to get to as many as possible. Most are small belleting towns and villages that I'm keen to visit and get some pictures of and see what traces may be left, both physical and with the locals.

We have a google map, marked with the sites and I'm starting to add places of interest to visit if time allows.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1MhsOAnEg116BYm3pn-yEYh2EQuvjuEUs&usp=sharing
Pin drop marks are for places in the 16th's Diaries, yellow diamonds for places of interest.

I would like to ask the regulars to the area's involved, to please advise of "must see" Great War related places, excluding the big tourist sites, cemeteries and major memorials (we have another list of those). 
Preferably, small out of the way sites, with Australian connections that are rarely if ever, visitied by Aussie's. 

Thank you for your time reading this and for any assistance given.
Derek

Hi Don,

Thank you for that suggestion.

My travel friend is organising the list of cemeteries and major memorials to visit.

I'll pass that one on to her.

Derek 

I am currently trawling through past posts for things to see while I'm sitting at work on night shift.

Derek