Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

4th Hussars War Diaries

daimic

I would like to see the War Diaries of the 4th Hussars. My grandmother's father served the entire war with them. I understand from this researcher that they exist and have been digitised:

http://www.researchingww1.co.uk/4th-queens-own-hussars

I have a subscription to Ancestry but when I go to their special search page for the War Diaries and put in 4th Hussars as regiment I can get no results:

https://search.ancestry.co.uk/search/db.aspx?dbid=60779

I emailed "support" at ancestry but get no response (I gather this is normal). Can anyone here explain what the problem is?

Edited by daimic

Hello daimic

WO 95/1134        4 (Queen's Own) Hussars 1914 Aug.- 1919 Apr.  

You can download it from the Kew website for £3.50, or free on Ancestry. On the latter, omit "WO95/" and add /1 after 1134. (There are other diaries in the same box.)

Your mistake may have been the very common one of putting "th" after 4.

Good hunting!

Ron

What was your relative's name? - I am studying 3rd Cavalry Brigade (which 4th Hussars was part) during the First Battle of Ypres in 1914.

Thanks, Ron, but I still can't find it. I try "4 Hussars", no result. I try "4 (Queen's Own) Hussars" and get several hundred pages of results starting with some Kent regiment. Is there a simple direct link I can get the whole thing in one go from Ancestry? I am on the very of just getting it from Kew but it seems stupid when I am shelling out to these people at Ancestry every month.