Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Clinometer

wmfinch

Hello All,

My Grandfather was a Gun Layer on a 4.5 inch Howitzer and I have recently purchased a  No. 7  Dial Sight .  But I am now wondering about trying to purchase the correct type of clinometer, but am unsure which version would be correct for a 4.5 inch Howitzer.  Any help, advice, photograph will be very much appreciated.

V/R

Wayne Finch

Hello Wayne, A couple of photo's of a British clinometer in my collection, I believe that this is the type used with howitzers 4.5 and larger. I am no expert so hopefully some of the forums 'gunners' will have opinions.

good luck

khaki

1205172027.jpg

1205172030.jpg

Hello Khaki,

thank you so much for the info and pictures....very much appreciated!

V/R

Wayne

Hello All,

Here's a supplementary question....does anyone know how the clinometer was attached to the gun and where please?

I have tried studying photographs of 4.5 inch Howitzers on the internet, but cannot  work it out.  I'm assuming the Clinometer was situated vary near to the No. 7 Gunsight, so the Gun Layer could use the instruments together.

More help will be greatly appreciated.

V/R

Wayne

I have not found  a suitable photo of a barrel but I suggest that on the barrel or breech block there will be a small area that is accurately machined flat and parallel to the centre axis of the barrel.  This will not be painted and on which the clinometer is placed to check elevation, Clinometer is removed before firing. On more recent guns I have seen this feature on the upper surface of the  breech block.

This is from the Landships site might be of help:

4.5 inch How.jpg

Edited by squirrel

Most of the clinometer plane is visible on the right of the breech operating lever in the pic. It was T-shaped, presumably to allow measurement of (or, perhaps more likely, checking for the absence of) cant, as well as elevation.

Hi Wayne