Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Sgt Henry Hedley John Smith, RA

Lyffe

I am trying to discover what happened to a Henry Hedley John Smith, and would appreciate some help.  He was born in Acton in 1881-2 and married a Florence Emily Oliver in 1911.  A cabinet maker by trade he lived with his wife and family at 14 Church St, Edmonton, Middlesex.   When his youngest daughter was born in February 1917, her birth certificate recorded her father as being a Sergeant in the Royal Artillery.

Thereafter he disappears completely; the London Electoral Registers (LERs) show only his wife living at the family address in 1925 (no earlier record) et seq, whilst the 1939 Register records her as a widow (still at the same address as recorded on the 1917 birth certificate).   In 1934 the two oldest children were beginning to be listed in the LERs as 'Smiths', although the family adopted 'Hedley-Smith' in 1937.   There is no record of him in any LER before or after WW1.

Ancestry appears to have no record of him after his marriage - no death or probate -  nor does the CWGC appear to have any knowledge of him.

Unfortunately 'Smith' is such a common name I am now at loss as to where else to search - even searches for  the less common 'Hedley' have hit a brick wall.

Any advice/guidance as to what his WW1 service might have been would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by Lyffe

Hi

here is a potential for you to check out

First Name:Henry

Surname:Smith

Incident Details:Sickness

Information:Particulars furnished: Woolwich, 05/05/1919

Service Number:4270

Service From Date:07/02/1900

Service To Date:26/04/1919

Silver War Badge Number:B189962

War Office Ref. Number:RA/3375

Reason for Discharge:Paragraph 392 King's Regulations (xvi) No longer physically fit for war service. Army Order 29 of 1919

regards

Jon

Looks like two medal rolls and two MICs on Ancestry under #4270

1 RFA & 1 RHA