Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Please help. Mesopotamia 1918

Peach

Hello

I am have been looking into my great grandfather's life and death in Mesopotamia during WW1. Basically, as an amateur, I know very little about how the army was organised and find it confusing. I was hoping that perhaps someone would be able to say if I am on the right track?

Here's what I know. Richard Robinson, 1st Ox and Bucks Light Infantry, army number 19624, died in Mesopotamia 26/3/1918. I think he was killed Khan Baghdadi. I have photographs of him and a couple of cards. One dated Mesopotamia November 1916, I believe he was also in India (on the back of a photograph it says Bangalore). I found out some details from the Roll of Honour, Blackburn. I also got the Khan Baghdadi information from the War Graves Commission - it said he was exhumed from there. Also on that day two men were killed, Richard it appears was one of them. The other a man called C.H. Ellis.

Here's what is confusing me. Why was a man from Blackburn, Lancashire attached to Ox and Bucks? How can I find out more about where he had been and what battalion he was attached to?. I have scoured the internet for information and read all I can find, but the reality is I am not 100% sure I am correct. Could I have the wrong man? Is there more to know? It seems his records were destroyed in a fire - I joined Ancestry... 

It would be lovely to have some confirmation on this. I grew up (as did my Father) with Mesopotamia being mention a lot! I have grown up looking at his pictures and always wondered abouthim. IMG_1661.JPG.5fe7e19cc56f2aec0c00977fb72eab9e.JPGIMG_1662.JPG.74f594f6abfa90957c0e3efeed60059b.JPGIMG_1665.JPG.14d4c0dfa849434b905c1700880b99eb.JPGIMG_1666.JPG.e8f960b7cf40a3d73667f00ad9b2995e.JPGdoc3732930.JPG.d8391f68154fec3aa92d42986e8a64d7.JPG

Edited by Peach