Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

2nd Lt P G Clark K.R.R.C.

Terry Carter

I am going to remount and frame a group of medals for a friend. I was hoping to find a bit more info about 2nd Lt P G Clark.

He went to France on 23 March 1915 as L/Cpl Army Service Corps, No. SS/621

Commissioned to Kings Royal Rifle Corps 29 Dec 1916

28 June 1918 LG Lieutenant

transferred to General List 25 Sept 1918

The address on his Medal Index Card

856 Sherman Avenue

9th East Salt Lake City

Utah

USA

(p.s. This is info is not being gathered for any financial gain, I work in the mounting and framing business and I use offcuts of card and moulding that would other wise be binned)

Thanks Terry

2LT P G Clark KRR.jpg

Still researching this chap for you, but Lt P.G. Clark was in 20th (Service) Battalion (British Empire League Pioneers), KRRC, attached to 3rd Division as divisional pioneers.

There are a couple of references to him (as P.G.Clarke) in the battalion history ...

The achievements [around Monchy-le-Preux in April 1917] were subsequently immortalised by a ballad, the words written by Fearby [Lt. F.H. Fearby], which a glee party of D Company officers used to sing with great effect.  It contained a particularly popular reference to Sec.-Lieut. P.G. Clarke, who at this time discharged the very grim duty - henceforward always entrusted to an officer of the battalion during active operations - of organising the search for, over the battlefield, the identification and burial of the dead of the 3rd Division.   Clark, it should be mentioned, did this ghastly work with great efficiency.