Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Personal contribution to WWI centenary

Kathie

I thought I would just mention  a very personal contrtibution which I  have been making to the centenary of the War.   

First,   each year  1914 onwards I have been invited by the University of Cape Town to  give a weeks course on that years war events.  I am not an expert but an amateur researcher into South African experiences in the war.

So 1913 - I did five lectures with lots and lots of powerpoint pictures as an introduction to the War - Lights gone out and Egypt,  the Somme,  East Africa,  Flanders 1917,  1918 and British retreat,  Remembrance.

That led to the current series on SA involvement.

1915 -  Why join up,   Conssider your verdict 1 and 2 being analsysis of cases of war such as German internment, confiscation of goods,  treason and rebellion where I had four barristers argue the cases and  the audience voted,  nurses training and Medical Journal articles  and the SA Amublance in Cannes with Nurse Betty Freund as the central person.

1916 -  Women in the War and we did Alexandrina and her family connecdtions throughout Europe,   Sophie and the repercussions to her death,   Beatrice and the letters of the Prime Minister to her,   Dorothy and her influence on her Generral husband,  Issie and her marriage to the Defence Minister of SA,  Cleopatra and the importance of her country and its canal.   We did  German East Africa and the diary of Grahame Munro   then the music of the War and we had two choirs and everyone sang along,  the Somme and  SA soldiers,   Delville Wood and Butte de Warlencourt and the Pattison brothers and others.