Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform and Battalion Identification

paul2018

Hopefully someone can help me here.   I am studying my ancestry and have an old battered photograph of my great grandad in ww1.  All we know is that his name was William Robson and that he lived in Byker of Newcastle Upon Tyne.  All we were told by my gran was that he died on the front lines.  Her mother and William did not get married for some reason and ww1 wiped out any chance of it happening.

Not having any more information on him makes it almost impossible for me to find his family, but I am currently looking through old photos of the illustrated chronicle and as tedious as this is going page by page, I am hopeful I will find a match.

I have posted a copy of the picture that he gave to his lover...Its not in good condition but good enough for a hundred years.

Knowing something about the issue date of the uniform on this photo would be a big help, and I understand that the cap badge indicates his battalion, which would also be great help.

In fact ANY information you can glean from this picture would be very welcome indeed.

Many thanks.

Grandad 600DPI.jpg

Edited by paul2018

He is with the Northumberland Fusiliers (NF) and wearing 1902 pattern khaki serge Service Dress (SD).  He is dressed for 'walking-out' (of barracks), a form of dress that the vast majority of WW1 soldiers adopted when posing for a portrait photo intended for loved ones (family and paramours etc).  A common marker of this is the so-called 'swagger stick' that he holds in his left hand.