Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Pilot Ahlefeldt sought

chrisheal

Hello

I am a complete novice on the German WW1 air force. Any prompts, etc, would be most appreciated. I am looking for:

Leutnant d. Res. Graf Karl Christian von Ahlefeldt (born 13/1/1891 Dresden, died 1/4/1916 Douaumont) found on the denkmalprojekt.org website. He was in the fighter plane division. His unit was Füs.R. 86. Presumably Douaumont means the Battle of Verdun - timing seems right.

Thank you

Chris Heal

The date certainly matches the battle of Verdun.

Isn't GRAF a title of some sort, maybe minor royalty? Hopefully someone with expertise will come along shortly to give the full story. Good luck.

Yes, Loader, thanks. Graf is like a count. A countessa is a Grafin. And the 'von' means noble stock - like much of the upper echelons of the German military in WW1. Thank you for the good luck.

What sort of info do you want? His prior military career? If he was a Lt. d.R. it implies that he did a tour as a lieutenant but then left active duty for another career, but when the war came returned to active duty and decided to join the adventurous flying service.

I have about 60 Ranglisten, but only a couple are Saxon, so I probably would not find him in one on active duty. I have been away from this research for about three years, perhaps there are more on the Internet now. An active duty entry in a Rangliste would give certain information.

I have a friend who is Saxon nobility (three grandparents died in the firebombing of Dresden, which he watched from 40 miles away as a child), but he has little interest in military history, I fear, including his own family's, so he probably wouldn't be a help.

Again, what are you trying to find?