Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

soldier started in Montgomery yeomanry

davolbi

I am just starting out trying to research my grandad in ww1 I've found he joined Montgomery yeomanry December 1915 also that he was later in the royal Welsh fusiliers, information I've found on line suggest that maybe the units he was in didn't serve abroad but I know he received the victory medal and British war medal which I thought meant you had served overseas? Could anyone point me in the rite direction to find out somemore information thanks 

Edited by davolbi

Welcome to the GWF.

A name, a service number, a place and date of birth, would help those with the knowledge on here who can assist you.

Thanks

His move from the Yeomanry to the RWF suggests that he was in either the 1st/1st or the 3rd/1st.  In March 1917 the 1/1st merged with 1/1st Welsh Horse to form the 25th (Montgomery & Welsh Horse Yeomanry) Battalion of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers who served in Palestine in the 74th (Yeomanry) Division.  The 3rd/1st were disbanded in March 1917 and the men were transferred to the RWF (2nd/1st and 4th Bns).  The 3/1 didn't serve overseas.

Should have said at beginning his name was Oliver e Evans joined 15/12/15 aged 21 think his original service number 3327 then changed to 39050 also mentioned on one form I read ''agricultural labour company,'' would he have received medals if he only in Britain 

To get a medal you had to enter a theatre of war. Home service only meant no medal.

Bernard

thanks for the help ive looked at his medal card it doesnt mention the montgomery yeomanary whom he first joined in welshpool,it lists him as being in the royal welsh fusiliers corporal service number 65994 and then labour corps corporal service number 39050.another form mentions him being in the 548th agricultural labour company

Hi davolbi,

Member hywyn should be able to throw more light on this, if he sees this topic.