Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Treatment of front line casualties

Mark Hone

I am in long range planning for my 2017 battlefields tour marking the centenary of Messines and Passchendaele. One of the key themes of the tour will be casualty evacuation and the treatment of wounds. Several of our old boys served as doctors ( e.g. MO of 2/5th East Lancs George Crawshaw won the MC for his bravery on 9th/10th October 1917) and the stories of two of the old boys who died ( Lt John Hartington MC and Lt Colonel Tom Boardman) will centre on casualty treatment. I am no medical expert but have quite a bit of material on the subject, such as the useful chapter by Dr Geoff Noon in 'British Fighting Methods of the Great War'. However, I would appreciate any additional input or pointers in the right direction. I had planned to speak to the University of Manchester team who recreated a CCS at Heaton Park but as related elsewhere I foolishly got the dates mixed up and missed the event. Sadly, Forum Pal Sue Light is no longer available to advise. 

Any help is as always much appreciated. 

Mark

If you can get hold of the Official History for the Great War, Medical Services, General History Vol 3 that will give you an overall account of the medical overview of how the medical set up worked for the period in question, 1917. Scotland and Heys published War Surgery 1914 (Helion) a couple of years ago and that will give you some good info, not too complicated, on how the casualties were treated at the CCS etc. There are a lot of other books around for the layman on basic casualty treatment such as Wounded by Emily Mayhew. Pity you are not closer to the Army Medical Services Museum, you could have popped in there. If you have other queries feel free to pm me and I will help if I can.

Pete

think (not entirely certain) that that volume is available via archive.org.