Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Trench Clubs

calibre792x57.y

At a request I post these items from my small collection. The first pair are both British.  I am no expert on woods so perhaps a reader can tell what they are.  The lighter one was one of a pair I bought back in the 'Eighties.  They were both then in pristine condition and very pale as they came from a house clearance in Berkshire and had been in the bottom of a blanket box.  When I sold off my collection one went to another collector and the other was sold to a dealer.  The latter decided it didn't look old enough so he oiled it and knocked it about a bit!  I later bought it back a few years ago..  It is a standard British pattern of the GW. with triple boot studs, horseshoe nails and lead loaded.  The other is a 'Harrods' version of the issue British club and was probably made by someone who made police truncheons as the finish is almost too good to take to war!.  Unless otherwise stated the bootlace loops are to suspend the club on a wall display.  The leather wrist loop on the 'Harrods' model is period.  -SW

DSCN0824-001.JPG

Edited by calibre792x57.y
Add info. and clarity

The next pair are both German. The one with the cast iron socket forming a head for the shaft seems to be the most common and several of these are in collections that  I know. .But beware; because there are fakes of this pattern on the market, fortunately the faker's research isn't very good and the fakes are easily distinguished when compared with the real thing.  The 'morning star' is a cast steel ball with five rudimentary spikes, attached to a steel spring and fitted with a turned wood handle. Examples are marked with the maker's identity on the ball and the wrist strap which is missing on this example. - 'FKG 202' for F. Kottenhof, Gevelsberg, in the Ruhr industrial area. The significance of the number is not known to me.- SW

DSCN0825.JPG