Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

ROYAL IRISH CONSTABULARY

battle of loos

good morning,

I researche all police men who served in France .

because, I have finded near the battle field (artois - zouave valley) one cap badge of the  ROYAL IRISH CONSTABULARY with another cap badge (CANADA).

this is the cap badge :

ROYAL IRISH CONSTABULARY.JPG

thank's in advance for your anser

regards

michel

Edited by battle of loos

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Michel

I am not exactly sure what information you are seeking? 

While the badge does resemble the RIC badge it seems odd to

find a civilian police badge on a WW1 battlefield. Are you sure it is an RIC cap badge? 

I am no expert but could it be from an Irish related regiment such Tyneside Irish, London Irish, Royal Irish regiment etc. The Tyneside Irish cap badge seems to look similar

regards

• 1 month later...

Michel,

I am not an expert on badges either, but the one you have found certainly appears to be a Royal Irish Constabulary badge.

There were many hundreds of former RIC policemen who served during the war, with probably the majority serving with the Irish Guards.

It is very likely that some of these former policemen carried their RIC cap badge with them during the war as a memento, so I'm not surprised that some were lost.

Congratulations on a rare find.

• 4 weeks later...

good morning,

sorry for the long time without no anwser.

this the basck about this cap badge :

royal_10.jpg

when i have find this cap badge badge I know for the London Irish Rifles but for the "British Military Bagde forum" are  the ROYAL IRISH CONSTABULARY.

I would like find how many Irish Policemen are coming in France during the 1st World War.

regards

michel

• 4 months later...

Michel,