Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Could any one id this ww1 German tunic as to regt pls

microscope1967

enclose pics this frame is made from a tunic sleeve/back thankspost-101944-0-30361300-1458335991_thumb.post-101944-0-34300000-1458336002_thumb.

I am not a uniform expert by any means, but in the absence of any other identifying feature I would think it would be just about impossible to tell the back of one regimental dunkelblau tunic from another, except in very broad terms, e.g., (IIRC) red piping = infantry; the cuffs lack litzen, so not a Garde unit... Where was the photograph taken - that might limit the State option!

Trajan

Interesting display and nice to actually see the shade of blue.

So it would tend to indicate that he was the recipient of a Iron Cross first class and a wound badge.

Can you make out the name of the photographer , sometimes the barracks used the local photographer to produce their souvenirs.

a long shot but you never know.

thats good thinking the pic says J.ASSMANN THORM OR THORN BRUCKENST

So red piping is infantry

matbe i should try and remove the photo its held in by panel pins maybe something on the back

looked up Thorn it was in West Prussia now Poland

Could be IR61

http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/IR_61

Just like my Great Uncle.

I have a post card with his group in training in Thorn in 1909.

During the war he reported to RIR61 at Gdansk.

I struggled with this issue when I was researching Jacob.

I believe that IR61 had yellow shoulder tabs with red numerals.

Your man looks like the shoulder tabs are red.

http://www.kaisersbu...w/infantry1.htm

post-103138-0-23004800-1458387096_thumb.

http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Assmann_(Thorn)/Fotostudio

It looks like the German 35th Division were linked to Thorn

so there are many possibles

Pre-World War I organization

The organization of the 35th Division in 1914, shortly before the outbreak of World War I, was as follows:[6]