Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Get Squared! Use a Trench Map

laughton

I assembled this information in part to deal with some of the issues on the trench map errors made by the 18th Labour Company that were involved in the 2 British Cases (2nd Lt. Kipling & 2nd Lt. Law) and the corresponding and closely link cases of the 2 Canadian Cases (Lt. McDonald & Lt. Wylie). It became apparent to me that we needed to know more about the origins of the trench maps and the "missing pieces" when the "Squared Maps" changed to the "Revised Squaring" approach. Unlike Dr. Peter Chasseaud, I am no expert on this topic but I soon found that someone needed to explain (or try to explain) more about the transformation process. This is my start on that assignment. I welcome any comments, questions and criticisms - as long as you tell me who you are when you make them.

GET SQUARED! USE A TRENCH MAP
Part I
Welcome to Trench Map “Boot Camp”. I am taking you back to the basics and then we will go on from there. You can download this post in PDF Format as well.
Trench Map Letters and Numbers
In the beginning of the transformation of the trench maps from the French (1:80,000) or Belgian (1:40,000) to the British system, each 1:40,000 scale maps was created using 24 squares each 1,000 yards by 1,000 yards (A-X). That gave the total area of any square as 1,000,000 square yards. Each of those squares was divided into 36 sub-squares (1-36) and then each sub-square was divided into 4 sectors (a, b, c, d). The reference for this is the work of Dr. Peter Chasseaud as detailed on the IWM Trench Map DVD "Understanding a Trench Map".
It appears that there is a restriction on the image posting and ability to control size so I have just left the links to the images. You can download the file with the images intact at the PDF link provided above.