Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

ww1 huts

victor.hill

not sure if this is the right topic.

admins can delete if not

have just been on a tour in hawstead , near bury st edmunds suffolk of this first ww1 hut or 2 huts joined together to make a stage for troops in ww1 , has been removed and rebuilt by a small team , of what i can only say , ,precise . hard working self taught .peaple .

lots of new ideas for what i can only say will be a very true record .of ww1 huts how they built also records of the companys who builts these hut supply tenders of goods that are needed to build these huts for army troops starting in 1914/1915/1916/1917/1918 .

the first hut is a fine example of the work skill today and way back 100 hundred years ago .

i.e. windows, doors,roof truss,and boards nailed in classic order this will be a brilliant step back in time .

they are now looking for any old ww1 guard rooms huts :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

any one reading this will know who they are, who have started this venture BRILLIANT

VIC HILL

Online at

http://www.greatwarhuts.org/

and on FB at

https://www.facebook.com/greatwarhuts?fref=photo

and tweeting as @GreatWarHuts.

A fascinating and ambitious project.

Gwyn

thanks gwyn

for adding those links i was being tackfull as i have been raped on the knuckls before and have to carefull

have been in the first hut it is of great skill that they have done well to get back up and looks good

i know have just knocked down an old shed at home and got an 8 x6 used shed and rebuilt it replaced wood in places and refelt plus the mrs has put 4 coats of preseve on it 2 cresote and 2 of ducks back

looks like new

rregaurds and thanks vic :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

thanks moonraker.

have looked at that link.