Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ammo Boot Nail Patterns

katesdad

I've read that soldiers ammo boots were issued without hobnails, which were later added by either the regimental farriers or cobblers.

Anyone ever heard of this practice, and if so any idea where I might look for examples?

My Grandfather was in the Manchesters, me I'm a Cadet Instructor these days (retired from active service after 22 years). My old ammo boots that I use for parade need to be reironed after this Remembrance Day, and I thought I might get them nailed as a tribute tot he old warhorse.

Larry

Bedford

Larry

I have a pair of boots marked 1918 which have 13 studs on the sole and a horseshoe style piece on the heel, the studs/hobnails(they are extremely worn down) are in two rows of four, a row of three and a row of two nearest the toe. Can't say for sure if these boots were worn at the time or if they were made then and worn later.

Hobnail patterns in WW1 has already been covered:

http://1914-1918.org/forum/index.php?showt...635&hl=hobnails

Regarding the Sutlers, they are just about the least helpful people I've ever dealt with! When the product arrives I've had no problems, but getting it to arrive... tried to order a reproduction messtin from them, but was told it was out of stock, with fresh deliveries in the next week or so. Few months later, I rang to chase this up - was told it was out of stock, with fresh deliveries in the next week or so :angry: Cancelled the order then and there. Plus, they rarely (read: never) answer emails where it is obvious you aren't prepared to spend anything over £100.

I heard that story several times Andrew... :angry:

You are not alone pal!

peter you better mail to http://www.schipperfabrik.com/

They make excellent P14 gear.

Larry,

There were no prescribed Hobnail patterns. You are correct about boots being issued without nails, at least at first.