Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

25 German soldiers buried at Langemark

egbert

Wonderful, thanks Egbert. A very moving day, no doubt.

Robbie

Guest Trench Boezinge

I was there,

I went to my work untill on the radio they mentioned the burial was just started and I was just passing Langemark.

So I pulled over and I was just on time for the ceremony to begin,

it's great to see people getting a proper burial after all these years, sad to know those were and remains unknown soldiers for eternity.

I guess if you fell in No Man's land ... the name speeks for itself.

Taking care of frontiers was and still is more important than human lives.

I started a topic about 3 german bodies laying in an unknown grave somewhere around Ypres ... and my wish is to give them a proper burial, since I have no archeological experience, I contacted the Volksbund to give them everything I know about them... (I won't give more details about the case because a few not everyone would go there and ...)

After the action taking by the Volksbund, I'll give all the details.

Also I read a book once who mentioned :

'As we were in our trenches freezing to death, our luitenant gave us the order to pull out the wooden crosses of a little french cemetary. We did as ordered and lighted a fire with the crosses to keep us warm. As our fingers almost froze off, noone took care of writing down the names and emplacement of those fallen soldiers it was somewhere around Ypres.'

Some unknown soldiers have been burried and reburried more than a few times.

With respect

It must have been a thread in another section of the Forum, but someone there asked me if any of the 25 German soldiers had been identified. (I think it was Ralph W.). A question to which I replied no.