Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

WW1 1914 lithgow hooked quillion bayonet- advice required

ojfishlock

Good evening everyone, I have recently found out I may be in possession of a WW1 1914 hooked quillion Bayonet. I am looking for some sort of guidance from some more experienced collectors that will inform me honestly of what I actually own, without having a motive of owning it at a cheap price. I don't necessarily wish to sell it but I would like to be a bit more educated on its value etc I have researched a lot and the information varies. Attached is some pictures and any opinions and or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

O.J

post-120238-0-70392600-1423559658_thumb.

post-120238-0-12175700-1423559681_thumb.

post-120238-0-03430300-1423559735_thumb.

Well I am no expert but it is Austrailian made by Lithgow in 1914. Belonged to a unit from the 2nd Military District (someone will tell you which State) and being 1914 may have seen service at Gallipoli? As to value if a genuine hookk to an Austrailian with speculation as to service in Galipolli alot. One UK dealer seems to price his hookys at 600 to 800 plus.

The frog is not WW1 I think.

TT

Welcome OJ,

The person who needs to comment on this is our cobber SS down under - he has posted a lot on his now-locked Australian Bayonets' thread at: http://1914-1918.inv...howtopic=189766 and given the time difference is probably sleeping right now. As far as I can see it seems pukka enough, and in nice condition, but SS and others will undoubtedly comment more.

Yours has the serial marking for the 2nd Military District = but the thread will explain all.

As for value, well it varies - an Australian collector would pay more than a Brit!

Trajan

PS: TT's came in while I was writing - his price range seems appropriate although I have bought for less