Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Is it ok to....?

Sambob1914

My interest in WW1 began 6 years ago when I took a group of secondary school children on a Somme battlefields tour and since then I have been an avid reader and collector of all things linked to WW1. For Christmas my husband bought me British war medal that was sale on ebay and I have begun to do some research on it.

I've found out a little bit about the original owner of the medal but do others on this forum (I am totally new to this research stuff) think it is ok for me to be researching a soldier who is neither family nor friend? I feel like I am prying somewhat into another family but I also want to do its recipient proud.

So far I have found out that the medal belonged to Rowland Ratcliffe Hood, a gunner in the RFA. On his medal is the number 1342 (don't know what this is) and on his medal card it also has the number 865- 685 (?). I also think he was from Wakefield. That's all I know and I don't know how I can research further.

Should I continue my quest to find out more or should I leave well alone from now on?

Advice/ help appreciated!

Sam

Carry on looking for info on him. See if he is on a memorial where he came from. Check CWGC website to see if he survived.

Sam

Welcome to the forum, it's perfectly acceptable to research someone, family member or not, many people research Battalions and the men in them so it's far from unusual.

To start off, read theis link from "The Long Long Trail" http://www.1914-1918.net/soldiers/research.html it's a wonderful resource, there is a section "How to Interpret a Medal Card" which will help you with what you have.

Once you've read it, any questions, get back to us.

Sam

Thanks so much for the replies so far- I was hoping that it wasn't too odd to be researching Rowland! Thanks for the research tips too- keep them coming!

The Medal Roll shows he survived and was discharged 2/4/19

Sam