Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Sport in Salonika

Guest jw_94

Hi everyone,

I am an undergraduate History student focusing my dissertation on Salonika and was just wondering if anyone in this forum could help me in my research. I am particularly interested in the role and nature of sport in for the British troops in Salonika during the Great War, and how this compared to the Western Front (which has been well-covered by existing- literature). I know from photos at the IWM that football matches took place, boxing tournaments were organised and sports days were held during this period. If anyone has any further photographs, mentions of sport in diaries, articles in regimental journals or any reference at all to add to this it would be much appreciated! This could range from soldiers betting on sports, the class differences between sports played by different ranks, and even the military utility of games and fitness. I believe I have contacted some of the more regular contributors to this forum separately, but I would love to hear from anyone else who may have something valuable to add!

Thanks

Q . I believe I have contacted some of the more regular contributors to this forum separately, but I would love to hear from anyone else who may have something valuable to add!

I am sure that they will be only too happy to assist you.

Hi everyone,