Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private Albert Butcher - More Information needed

Sparks7882

Good morning all.

I am new to this so any assistance would be great. I have had the honour of being handed down my Great Grandfathers WW1 Victory Medal - On the side is engraved his name and his number. 5478 MGC which I am led to believe is the Machine Gun Corp. I have done a little research to which I have found his Medal Card which states not only the above number but also he was in the Middlesex Regiment under number 16191.

Can anyone tell me anymore about him? None of my family who would know are still alive so im trying to patch everything together. I know that he was known as "Jack" too which wasn't uncommon apparently?

Thank you so much in advance as its going to mean so much to be able to put a face or record to his medal, to find out where he fought too.

John

Welcome to the Forum, John

You've already found what's probably the key document - the Medal Index Card. This link will tell you more about what that actually is and what it means (lots of other good research tips as well) - http://www.1914-1918.net/soldiers/research.html. The link will tell you how to use the information from the Card to work out his actual unit. It should then be possible to find the official war diary for that unit and you'd be able to track his general service.

I'm assuming you found the Card through Ancestry? They also have other document sets which include men's service files. Most of these were destroyed in the 1940s in afire so you've only about a 30% chance of finding one. There are also what are known as the pension papers - service files for men being considered for an army pension having been, say, wounded. If neither of these exist for Albert it's going to be pretty much impossible to find personal details about him.