Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

trajan

A Turkish dealer I know has sent me details of this rather sad looking HQ for comment - he indicated that it may have come with a group of bayonets bought in Bulgaria a decade or so back.

It has certainly seen some excessive use/wear: the metal is pitted; the blade tip is slightly bent; the left ricasso is worn so badly that the crown and pattern number can only just be made out; the right ricasso is in slightly better condition with what looks like a crown/35/E (number is not entirely clear) and EFD marks, plus a SOS mark. To be honest I thought it might be an excavated relic, but the grips look ok, and we can ignore the later scabbard with which the bayonet could have been 'married' at any time.

The one thing that did puzzle me was the serial number on the crossguard. I don't recall ever seeing a P.1907 with a serial number there - but then I have limited experience of these bayonets. The only other similarly marked bayonets I can think of right now (early Sunday morning!) are Greek, e.g., the Y.1879 and the like, with serial numbers the same size - but on the left side of the crossguard and the other way up...

Any comments from m'-much-more-learned friends?

post-69449-0-16428700-1413698419_thumb.jpost-69449-0-15841400-1413698446_thumb.jpost-69449-0-33369800-1413698462_thumb.j

EDIT: added topic tags

Trajan, some early Australian marked hooked quillon 1907s had serial numbers on the cross guards in the "1MD 1234" format. However it looks like this bayonet just has numbers, and the sold out of service mark would typically be on the pommel if it was Australian.

Cheers, J

Thanks Jonathan, so that's one country to eliminate from the list of possibles! I tried to enhance the serial number, but this is the best I can do with my box.

BTW, any thoughts on the extreme wear on this one?

post-69449-0-04876500-1413714723_thumb.j