Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Musketry Words of Command

rd72

HI all,

I am studying the words of command in use for target indications and this example came up form the 1914 Musketry Regs.

ScreenShot2014-09-30at104838AM_zpsc10c33

I would draw your attention to the phrase "At_____(elevation and deflection)"..... This is very interesting and stands at odds with conventional wisdom and, in fact, all other references to target indication in the manual....

Target indications at the time seem to be worded thus,..... "At the hedge left of barn (object),.... At 400 yds (range),....... FIRE (or RAPID FIRE)" but these have nothing to do with angles....

Does this confusing wording in fact mean "Range (elevation) and Windage (deflection)" This is what I tend to think it does, but why didn't they word it like that?

Does anybody have any observations or references that may clarify this confusing wording?

Cheers,

Rob

I seem to remember seeing a photo of an organised group of about a dozen men trying to shoot down an airplane with rifles. Would the command have been used in those circumstances?

Deflection in this case is used to overcome a side wind, an imaginary aiming point is used.

For example ;

"1200 ; Enemy's Right Column ; Aiming Mark, Right, Two Targets'Breadths ; Fire"

Elevation relates to sighting elevation.

This example is taken from Fire Orders, produced at the School of Musketry, Randwick, Australia, 1912.

clk,

No I don't think that it has anything to do with anti aircraft fire as it is taken from the musketry pam and is very much "basic" in nature.

Chris,

Thanks for the insightful response. I figured that it had something to do with windage (aiming off) ... I don't suppose that there is an online source for that document? Any chance of scanning or taking a photo of the relevant passages? I have found references to aiming off in the 1914 pam but there is no example of the words of command given.