Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

R.S.M. / W/O.1 (Temporary) Arthur Bainbridge, R.G.A.

gavin

Hello all,

I am new to this 'what Grandad did in the war' malarky, but good god is it addictive!!! A while ago i managed to seek out my maternal Grandfathers war record....well some of it, enough to alay some of my Mothers, and uncle Freds curiosity on the pages i gave them to read. A certain William Henry Holdstock tried in vain to enlist at the age of 16 and was told to 'come back next year' so a few months later at a different recruiting office he was enlisted as William Henry Murrell, (taking his step-fathers name) taken on to the listings of the 1st South Staffordshire regt. (I don't have the dates with me at the moment) he then 'jumped ship' to the fledgling Royal Flying Corps where his antics earned him a Military Medal, for what we have no clue!! But back to the reason of this post.