Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Assassin of Gallipoli

Guest bonza

There was also a previous thread with this link on it Pat. Something about snipers and Gallipoli I think?

Tim

G'day Mates

Thanks very much for the interesting account..

The sniper topic is an interesting one.. and for sure not easy to "investigate". In all the armies they were very good sharpshooters... many historians are likely thinking that the Germans were very deadly ones.. because of their ground knowledge..

I wonder how the claims were confirmed ?..

Regards

Yves

• 2 years later...

There is a really interesting and well written book called Through the Crosshairs – A History of Snipers by Andy Dougan (ISBN: 0-7867-1523-5) that traces the history of the sniper from the English Civil War to Vietnam in which Billy Sing gets a mention – page 190 ff.

Disappointingly this book has no index but it's worth a read.

Zack

I am a Gallipoli novice so I don’t know if this is well-known, I spotted it at Embarkation Pier Cemetery in September.

S

post-1722-1192307353.jpg

Bill

Thanks for that. An interesting site - wonder where they got the statistics from? I've read articles that credit Sing with 200 kills. The Canadian dominance is also interesting.

Zack

Hi Bill,

A very interesting site you gave. It looked like the Russian ladies were quite a good shot also.

I have never heard of William Edward Sing until I read the Assassin of Gallipoli thread.

I noticed in the AWM in the awards section, that his middle name was different in one of his awards. They have him as William Ernest Sing.

John