Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

help please with a document ramc

steph9755

Hi I'm new to family tree and the military, I was wondering if anyone would be willing to look up my gr8 grandfather's service records and perhaps help explain them a little better? My grandfather was called Frederick William Hobbs born 1888 in Camberwell. He married Ethel white in London. His father was called William f Hobbs. He was in the RAMC as a field ambulance person I think. His number is 88839 I think. Any help would be very much grateful as in struggling with this a little. Many thanks again steph

There is a Medal Index Card to 88839 Frederick William Hobbs of the RAMC and he is listed on the Silver War Badge roll. BUT, his age is wrong. 88839 Hobbs was discharged 'sick' in May 1919 aged 25y & 5mths, which makes him born about 1893/4, unlikey to pretend to be 5 years younger than he was.

The Fred Hobbs that married Ethel White seems to have been born in 1888/9 and claimed to be 22 when 88839 Hobbs would have been 18. Are you sure these are not 2 different people?? He may of course made himself older at his wedding.

There are 10 service records to the name Frederick William Hobbs, none in RAMC but he may have joined up into another unit.

There are 4 pension records to the name Frederick William Hobbs, again none in the RAMC.

I'd suggest going to your local library and using ancestry or findmypast, find the above records and read through for anything that tells you it's your grt grandfather.

You really need to sort out his date of birth issue, possibly 88839 Hobbs is not your grt grandfather or he fibbed when getting married or Ethel is not your grt grandmother!!!!

TEW