Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

International Prisoners of War Agency

jwfwarsaw

The International Committee of the Red Cross today opened a web platform which gives access to the Great War archives of the International Prisoners of War Agency (their press release is pasted below). It's absolutely fascinating, and within minutes I found the (sadly fruitless) search request made by my great-grand-mother for her first husband, who went missing at Loos, which was incredibly poignant. I attach his file, in case any GWF members with an interest in the Devonshires or Loos fancy a look.

I haven't been in the GWF for a while (mea culpa), but I thought I should spread the news about this. I also have a mercenary reason (mea culpa again), because in my day job I'm a journalist. I'm writing an article about the archive, and would be very interested to hear from any GWF members who have family stories about the role of the Red Cross in confirming that a relative was still alive and, potentially, in assisting in their post-war repatriation. Please private message or send a response in the open format, as you wish.

With kind regards to all,

Jonathan

Public opening of the International Prisoners of War Agency (IPWA) web platform on 4 August:

http://www.icrc.org/ww1

The archives of the International Prisoners of War Agency (IPWA), a body created during the early days of the First World War by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), bear witness to the scale of the suffering endured by victims of the war across the world. Seven million soldiers were taken prisoner, large numbers of civilians were interned on enemy soil and millions more endured military occupation or were forced to flee combat zones or occupied territories.