Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Large shell, how to clean it?

Canny Steve

Hi all

Found this almost right next to where Malins filmed the Hawthorne mine explode. Had to leave it in April where it had been ploughed up but "discovered" it again lost in some long grass the following month, so this time decided to bring up the car, as it is very very heavy.

So can anyone recommend the best way to clean it up to identify it? It is hollow inside after digging out most of the mud.

post-105383-0-93941500-1405957259_thumb.

The thin driving bands would identify it as German cant see properly but looks like 150mm?

It does appear to have a thin driving band toward what is now the top of it. Trouble is all the mud, pressure washer maybe, would it stand up to that sort of punishment?

I would leave it in a bucket of soapy water for a few hours and gently clean with a nylon brush.

A measure of diameter seems the best bet. I have no experience of trying to clean such items, but would suggest it is too deeply corroded for much to be gained. Soak in a bath of paraffin might be a start.

Old Tom

This one was in the same condition. Scrubbed then lacquered.

post-11859-0-80399400-1405962663_thumb.j

So none of this brick acid malarky and all the rest i've seen online. Right marigolds and stiff brush it is then!

The problem with stuff like brick acid on metals in this state is that they soak in and are a pain to neutralise completely and if you don't, after a year you have pile of flaky rust.

Mick

Soak in warm water to soften the mud, remove this manually with a brass brush, then paint the driving bands with alloy wheel cleaner for a short time, 5 minutes or so. Then get a brass brush for your drill and scrub up then paint with kurust.

Or, if it's a one off consider looking at local body shops, fabricators or engineers to get it bead sand or grit blasted.