Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Planning an August visit (2005 or 2006)

Half-pint

Hello:

I am just beginning to make plans to spend about 4-5 days in Belgium and northeastern France, either this August or the next year. Plans include touring the Ypres battlefields and making visits to cemeteries at Mericourt-L’Abbé and Thiennes.

Am most interested in long walks around Ieper. Are there tours geared specifically to walkers? Any advice, generally, for example: are there many pedestrians on those roads? do drivers look out for them?

Finally, I would be combining this trip with business in Germany and visits to family in Sussex & Surrey. The Germany trip has a fixed date at the end of July, which is why I would want to travel to Ieper either before or afterward. Are there a lot of tourists in the area at that time of year? Aside from 11th November, is there a "best" time to be in the area?

As you can see from these questions, I have no clue :P . Thanks for your patience and any suggestions.

Cheers,

Alison Causton

Alison

You'll have a great time whenever you go.

If you wade through the threads in this section, you'll probably find answers to all your questions - and answers to questions you hadn't even thought of yet.

John

Alison.

Can I suggest Paul Reed's excellent book 'Walking the Salient' as a starting point. You can either follow the walks directly or adapt them to suit your own particular interests and/or fitness level.

I would recommend that you try and incorporate 2 relatively new WW1 related sites in the your itinerary. Firstly, the German trenches at Bayernwald - near the Croonart Chapel cemetery (you have to get the access code from the tourist office in Kemmel). Secondly the Memorial Museum in the chateau at Zonnebeke which is excellent.