The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

help needed to read two sets of army records please!

steph9755

Hi I am new to all this, I have managed to find two sets of service records, one is Arthur lockyer army number 9274, joined queens own regiment born about 1888, im not sure if I am this site will enable me to up load his papers, its 15 pages, and another uncle Herbert manners, enlistment age 37, the roal garrison artillery number 172469, married to Alice. Herberts father John A Manners, all from the area Deptford London. I am hoping someone may be able to help me with this, as I cant read it and don't understand all the different language they use. Thank you in advance steph

Hi, Steph

Welcome to the Forum.

Arthur Lockyer's papers confirm that he volunteered to join the West Kents on 24 August 1914. He had previously been a baker and was the son of Frederick Lockyer of 85 Church Street, Deptford.

He was allocated service number 9274 and was promoted to Lance Corporal on 11 September 1914 and to Acting Corporal on 26 October 1914.

In July 1915, he deserted and was put on trial for desertion and "escaping when in lawful custody". He was sentenced to one year in prison with hard labour, which he served in Chelmsford. He asked the authorities to reduce his sentence so that he could go to the front and "endeavour by my conduct in the field to make up for my former misconduct" but this was rejected on the grounds that it was "highly probable that he would again desert".

He was released from prison in June 1916 and discharged from the army on 1 August 1916 as being permanently unfit for military service.

C

The records don't say, I'm afraid.