The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Sherwood Foresters 3/5 Battn. and 1/5 Battn. Notts. and Derby Regiment

Angela R.

Hi all,

I'm new to this so please bear with me.

I'm trying to find out where my great grand father Private John Ernest Pawley 4295 of the 3/5 Battn. Sherwood Foresters, Notts. and Derby. Regiment died. He was, I think, transferred to 1/5 Battn. on 10.11.15.

He enlisted on the 9/4/1915.

Embarked at Southampton on 10/11/1915.

Disembarked at Rouen on 11/11/1915.

Joined Unit in field on 14/11/15 and was

Killed in Action in the field on 18.4.1916 aged 33 years.

I know he is buried in Ecoivres Military Cemetery, Mont-St. Eloi in Flanders France and have been able to get a photo of his headstone. I have his records from the British Army Service Records but there is nothing about where he was located when he was in France or the circumstances of his death.

I would love to know where he was during his time in France and how he died. I don't know if any of this information is even available but if anyone can help out I'd really appreciate it.

Also, were there any photos taken of his Regiment? I don't have any photos of him at all.

Thanks.

Angela

Welcome to the forum.

The battalion war diary has them in the area of Vimy Ridge. It doesn't specify an exact frontage but refers to 'Albany Trench' which is about 600m south the Vimy Ridge visitors centre.

The war diary states:

'In trenches. No 2619 Sgt H J Spacey D Company received DCM. No 3192 Cpl W H Comery and 2430 Cpl A Hardy Military medal for gallantry in rescuing men gassed in Mine Shaft when mine opposite Albany CT was spring.'

Two men are recorded as wounded - John presumably succumbed to his wounds later that day. No casualties are mentioned in the days before which might otherwise account for his death. He was probably attached to the local tunnelling company doing some of the donkey work associated with military mining but as caught up in the incident above.